www.chilliwave.com

Wifi Network Distribution and Billing Server
It is currently Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Schedule reboot and connection timeout for torrents fix
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:02 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Canada
I was wondering if anyone has the nvram settings to set the schedule reboot on my routers.

Also nvram settings to fix the problem of routers slowing down with users running torrents. i believe it was to set the max connections to 4096 and lower the timeout values to 90 or so.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

_________________
Arif


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 9:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 4413
Location: Bend, Oregon
Here are the nvram settings for a scheduled reboot..


nvram set schedule_enable=1
nvram set schedule_weekdays=*
nvram set schedule_hours=3
nvram set schedule_hour_time=2


Drop that in the nvram command text box in the advanced router config menu and it will send it out to the router and apply it..

That will set it to reboot at 3am everyday..

If you figure that the router is going to default to GMT+1 then set the reboot time to anything from 0 - 23 and if you do the math correctly it will actually reboot at your chosen local time.. This way you do not have to worry about also setting the time zone in the router.. Just get used to working in GMT and things will be alot easier..

I don't know why dd-wrt defaults to GMT+1, but that is what it seems to do, so we work with it..

Example:

I am at GMT - 8 so GMT +1 on the router means that I am really 9 hours behind the router clocks out in the field... If I want them to reboot at 3am, then I need to add 9 hours to that and set this:

nvram set schedule_hours=12

When you subtract 9 hours from that, it will reboot my router at 3am my local time...

I got this by setting one router up without scheduled reboot and logging into it with putty.. then I did a dump of the nvram variables with this command:

nvram show all

exit

then I closed the connection which caused a log file to be saved with that dump file inside it..

Then I logged into dd-wrt and set the scheduled reboot via web interface and applied the settings.. Next I connected to the router again with Putty and named the log file "after.log" and did the same process to dump the nvram variables..

I used my Wifigator Companion 5.0.1 DVD machine to do this because it has the Kompare program to tell the differences between two files..

The above process saved two files in my /home/chuckoms/ directory called "orig.log" and "after.log"... Then I opened the Kompare program and selected these two files and it showed me EXACTLY what nvram variables were different and how they were different..

This is how you figure out the nvram settings for anything you want to set the router to do..

I hope that helps several people out...

Chuck


Last edited by Chuck D on Mon Jan 26, 2009 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 4413
Location: Bend, Oregon
here is an example of how you set the TCP/UDP Timeouts and port number allowances...

nvram set ip_conntrack_max=4096
nvram set ip_conntrack_tcp_timeouts=3600
nvram set ip_conntrack_udp_timeouts=120


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 4413
Location: Bend, Oregon
I am going to move this to the Tips and Tricks/ Frequently Asked Questions category...

This is good information for everybody to have..

Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:47 am
Posts: 291
Chuck D wrote:

nvram set schedule_hours=3
nvram set schedule_hour_time=2



I read your explanation but I'm a little confused between these two settings.
Is schedule_hours the time you want to reboot. i.e. 3am
and schedule_hour_time is the offset from GMT?
or do I have that backwards?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 4413
Location: Bend, Oregon
You're right, that is confusing.. Leave the "schedule_hour_time=2" there..

That is a variable that sets the mode, and I should have distinguished that..

Just set this one

nvram set schedule_hours=3

That is the one that sets the actual time, but take into account my other discussion about the default time setting in dd-wrt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:47 am
Posts: 291
Ok got it thanks chuck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: parts of an hour
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:45 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Chuck, can you use parts of an hour to keep several AP's an repeaters fron rebooting at the same time?
IE.
nvram set schedule_enable=1
nvram set schedule_weekdays=*
nvram set schedule_hours=12.5
nvram set schedule_hour_time=2

_________________
Never, Never, Never, Never, let out the magic smoke!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 4413
Location: Bend, Oregon
Ron.. You do it by adding this to the above and tweak the minutes to your liking...

nvram set schedule_minutes=30

add that along with the other lines of code and it will narrow down to the minute...

range = 00 - 59

I hope that helps..

Chuck


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:45 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Thanks Chuck, does it really matter if the AP and 3 reapeaters reboot at the same time?

_________________
Never, Never, Never, Never, let out the magic smoke!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 4413
Location: Bend, Oregon
I don't think so.. I don't think they will actually reboot exactly at the same time, but I would also be thinking like you and maybe offset them by a few minutes each.. It couldn't hurt to let the system do it one at a time..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:47 am
Posts: 291
It *might* keep the systems down for less time, if you rebooted them cascading outward, i.e reboot the main AP first, then the closest repeater 1 min later, then the next closest 1 min after that .. but that would only work if you were sure the times were synchronized .. like if u had an NTP server or something.

but it seems like it works fine doing them all at the same time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 11:07 pm
Posts: 616
Location: Australia
Chuck when I compare the nvram variables using your trick posted above I get these two and I'm not sure whether I need them. This is not for the reboot thingo, its something else I'm working on.

is_modified=1
is_default=0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 4413
Location: Bend, Oregon
If they got changed by settings in the web interface to achieve a specific function, then yes, they would apply to this and need to be set in the advanced router config. menu..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:11 am 
I have tried this solution but can not get it working. I am using WRT54GL and WRT54GS both with DD-WRT. (router clock is correct)
First i press "Administration"
Then i press "Commands"

Now i have one command window and 4 buttons.
Buttons:

Run Command
Save Startup
Save Firewall
Save Custom script

If i add the following it should restart every day at 15.00.
nvram set schedule_enable=1
nvram set schedule_weekdays=*
nvram set schedule_hours=15
nvram set schedule_hour_time=2

if i write this in the commands window and press run commands nothing happens when the clock is 15.00. If i press "Save Startup" the router reboots the same time i press the button but not at 15.00. If i press save custom script nothing happens at 15.00. I have not tried save firewall.

Am i doing something wrong here ?


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group